Home > Uncategorized > Carpe Diem

Carpe Diem

“And in the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years.” Abraham Lincoln

The most valuable commodity you and I have is time. Time is unstoppable; it marches on regardless of our wishes. One day you willwake up dead (hopefully after a very long life), now is the time to act! At 37 this year I am starting to really consider the time I have left and how I can make the most of what is left. Will I pass the rocking chair test when I’m an old man? Or will I look back over my life with regret for opportunities lost and the people I didn’t enjoy time with?

You get one go at this thing called life! What are you going to do with your chance? I’m reminded of the Eminem song

“Lose Yourself – Look, if you had one shot, or one opportunity. To seize everything you ever wanted in one moment.
Would you capture it or just let it slip?”

Of course you may get more than one shot but then again maybe you won’t. So what are you going to do? Give a half hearted, scared and ineffectual attempt or are you going to give it a red hot go? Are you going to look for every little reason under the sun for why it might not work, play it safe as it were, or are you going to take the chance, a risk that it might be the start of something amazing? I am talking to myself here as much us to you; I have wasted so much time thus far. These questions are directed at me and I’m letting you read along.

I believe we are on this planet to do something astounding and dazzling not to be a weak, pathetic ‘victims of circumstance’. The only true limiting factor in your life is you, if you don’t believe me Google Nick Vujicic! Winners come from every walk of life, many have to overcome enormous obstacles and fail time after time but they persist, keep pushing, strive more, harder and longer until they breakthrough. Sure they might change course to navigate around an obstacle or opposition they’re facing but they don’t stop.

What gets you excited? What stirs you up? Find your passion, your purpose and then figure out how you’re going to achieve it. Start now! Don’t wait! What will waiting get you? Older, that’s all. So what if you fail, not that I want to fail and I certainly hope you succeed, but really it doesn’t matter because you tried and as the famous quote says “you fail 100% of the time that you don’t try’. Do you really want to die wondering what could have been?

To bring balance to the force (analytical writing) we must always temper our enthusiasm with wisdom. I don’t mean to suggest that every idea we have should be simply acted upon without any thought. Of course every situation should be judged on its merits, the pro’s and con’s considered. Once the wise application of thought has been applied action should then ensue.

The world is a wonderful place with many great people and experiences to be enjoyed please don’t let fear or uncertainty rob you from a wonderful life. We can achieve so much, the amazing things we are capable of just waiting and begging for us to have a go. Carpe diem people!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. June 19, 2011 at 5:30 am

    Nice. encouraging and Challenging!

  2. June 19, 2011 at 1:42 pm

    Thanks for your well-written words Scott. So true…tick, tick, tick – the time IS ticking right this very second. Don’t wait, don’t hold back – do what brings you joy and follow your passion!
    I am SO excited that I am passionate about what I do. I too have certainly wasted time but the important thing is not to dwell or regret but to grab the bull by the horns now! Each of us is to live our own journey, not to make comparison but follow our path of happiness.
    This world is truly AMAZING and I have so much gratitude for what I have now and what is to come 🙂

    My latest blog – http://www.ourhappylife.biz/blog.html

    • June 19, 2011 at 1:50 pm

      Thanks Michelle I look forward to reading your blog! Is it your first blog?

      • June 19, 2011 at 2:00 pm

        You are very welcome Scott. Yes, this is my first blog however I will be writing one every week or so. Love to get your feedback 🙂

  3. Mel Euhus
    June 19, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    I’ve never been great at giving reviews with much vocabulary beyond “good”, or “great read”….so i don’t always comment, .but just wanted you to know that rest assured I AM reading all your blogs (subscribed) and am taking your advice on board, keep em up! should write your OWN book with these chapters 🙂

  1. August 2, 2011 at 6:46 pm

Leave a Reply

