Home > Uncategorized > Passion

Passion

 

In 2008 I went to the AFL grand final in Melbourne to watch the mighty Hawthorn Hawks take on the Geelong Cats along with 104000 of my closest friends. It was an amazing experience that will be with me forever, not only because the Hawks won by 29 points but also for the amount of passion that every person there displayed. I was in the nose bleeds, the top of the grandstand only a few rows down from the top. I must have been a couple of hundred metres away from the action but that did not stop me from screaming my team on. I screamed so much and so loud in the first quarter that I started to black out because I forgot to breathe!

The dictionary defines passion as “a strong affection or enthusiasm for an object, concept, etc: a passion for poetry” and “the object of an intense desire, ardent affection, or enthusiasm” Wouldn’t life be empty without something and someone to stir emotions in you as strong as those described here? Passion tells you that life has purpose, a meaning; it tells you that you’re alive!

Passion can be for the important and for the not so important. I am insanely passionate about my kids, their welfare, and state of mind, success and general safety. I am passionate about my business, not only in its success but its legacy. By legacy I mean leaving a positive and lasting imprint on my Team for when they move on to the next stage in their lives. And then there are the less important things I am passionate about like the mighty Hawks I mentioned earlier. I love footy and the experiences it can bring such as going to the grand final but it is important to put all things in their rightful place.

Passion can make you do something you would never do, like a grandmother lifting a car off her grandchild after an accident. Passion is a marvellous emotion, that can drive you to do things you didn’t think were possible. All the greatest achievements ever made were by passionate people. From climbing Mt Everest to volunteering in a social club or learning to walk again after a car accident, all were achieved because of passion. Passion will push you past barriers and obstacles. Passion will keep you going in the darkest days when you can’t see the light at the end of the tunnel.

Passion can also be a negative, when you allow your passion to over ride your common sense. You must keep your passion in check and use it sensibly. An example of unchecked passion in my life would be when I’m at home watching the footy and the neighbours are in no doubt about my opinion of the umpire. There is a time and place for everything after all.

I hope you are fortunate enough to have something to be passionate about and someone who is passionate about you.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Nicole Doneley
    June 4, 2011 at 7:50 am

    Love this one! So very true 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

