Home > Uncategorized > Learning To Be Leader

Learning To Be Leader

 

I have been thinking over recent weeks that I have a lot that I would love to share and that this media, blogging, is a perfect way to do it. I’m not really sure where this will go, if anywhere or what shape it will take. I think I want to start by talking about being a boss, a leader and what that means in the modern age, at least to me. I am in no way saying I am the all knowing guru of all things leader, far from it! I am a student of leadership and I write this not only to share with you but also to help me to understand this topic better so I can be the best boss I can be. So here we go.

The modern boss has to be a servant (that’s right you heard me) of his employees (here after referred to as Team) if he or she

It's my goal to be given this present.

wants them to follow them, to get the most out of them. To push them past the bare minimum, the least required, and the minimum is all that is given by most. You have to show them you’re in it for them as much, if not more, than they are in it for you. Show them you care about them as people, especially if they are teenagers!

I have owned my business, the Island View Takeaway North Wagga, for just a little over three years and in that time I have learnt volumes about being a bad boss mostly from being a stupid, arrogant, irrational, ill tempered and usually at the cost of losing a great Team member. What I have learnt is to not do those things but instead find better, smarter and more productive ways of being a leader. To reach the goal of being the best leader I can be I read and listen to audio of the great leaders, those who have already succeeded and have the grace and humility to share what they know.

The most important thing I have learnt is that you have to treat them like equals! They are after all people with thoughts, feelings, ambitions, dreams, goals, hopes and fears, just like you and me. To think of the Team as nothing more than a commodity like any other piece of equipment is stupid and arrogant. I not only believe it is possible but essential to be their friend and confidant as well as their leader.

Another vital ingredient is to work with them. By this I mean help them fit work life in with the rest of life. For example, I have a number school students who work for me – as a side note they are all brilliant – and besides the normal constraints of availability due to the school day, i.e. they can’t work until after school finishes, there are also assignments or exams they might need time off for. Sure giving a key Team Member a week or two off to study for exams can be problematic and restricting to your roster but nowhere near as much as them either burning out due to over commitment and quitting or being resentful to you for not accommodating their needs.

You should also consider their family and friends. Is there a problem at home? Did a loved one die or become seriously ill? Did a close friend suffer a major loss? Maybe it’s nothing so big as those examples, maybe it’s just that ‘Mum and Dad don’t understand me’ syndrome and while us adults know that in the greater scheme of things normal conflict with your parents is, well, just that normal, it can be all encompassing and overwhelming when you are 16 or 17 years old and trying to find your own identity.

I guess the main thing I have learnt is that they just want what you want, to be respected and treated fairly. Treat your Team well and they will treat you well. By this I don’t mean let them get away with not working or getting the job done properly. In fact you must insist that they not only work but work to a standard much higher than would be considered normal and trust them to achieve the lofty heights you set for them and if someone cannot or will not achieve you must let them go. However, treat them like family and love them in the process!!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Manda
    May 23, 2011 at 11:12 am

    Well thought out, Scott, I’ll be following your blog with great interest!

  2. Nicole
    May 24, 2011 at 3:53 am

    Love the concept, the ideas and your way of thinking when it comes to leadership 🙂

  3. Melanie Euhus
    May 24, 2011 at 5:28 am

    Well said 🙂

  4. Greg Logan
    May 24, 2011 at 11:48 am

    Great first blog Scott 😀

    It’s honest, common sense writing from genuine experience…and this is what gives your insights so much impact as you read. Next blog please!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

